Braunecker named All-Southwestern Indiana Player of the Year

posted Jan 23, 2012, 2:08 PM by Kristine Braunecker   [ updated Jan 23, 2012, 3:22 PM ]

The Courier & Press named Forest Park senior wide receiver, Ben Braunecker, Player of the Year on the All-Southwestern Indiana football team. He had 27 receptions for 644 yards (a 23.9 yards-per-catch average) and seven touchdowns. He also added two rushing touchdowns. He averaged 36.5 yards on four punt returns, with a 91-yard TD and 34 yards on kickoff returns with two touchdowns. Defensively, he added 44 tackles, two forced fumbles, four passes defended and three interceptions.

Others making the All-Southwestern team include:
Jared Lauer, South Spencer and Tyler Herrman, South Spencer
Colton Motz, Wes Harness and Bryce Koester, North Posey
Daniel Perez, Kyle Seger, Blake Nordhoff and Cody Mosener, Southridge
Trent Simpson and Damon Wahl, Heritage Hills
Blake Feldmeier, Tanner Mitchell and Jake McConnel, Boonville
Kade Bowman and Dylan Ervin, Washington

Jon Thomas, Max Bawel, Karson Nixon and Nick Gobert, Jasper
Lynk Kordes, Forest Park
David Anguish, Gibson Southern

The coach of the year was Joe Gengelbach from North Posey.